“Colville : The Secret” Book Review (Arousing the Legacy)….A nice change from the whole romantic Vampire fever

I have another book review for you people who like mystery and thrills as well as a paranormal feel to it. The name of the book is ‘Colville – The Secret‘ in the ‘Arousing the Legacy – The Colville Mysteries‘ series by A. J. Raven, and I think you’ll enjoy it as much as I did.

legacyebookstandard-450

I admit that I’m more old fashioned when it comes to supernatural creatures. If you want me to tell me a vampire story, then you better show me a vampire that’s out for blood. I really don’t get the whole, I want a vampire boyfriend fever that a lot of people have. Like seriously, they are dead. How can you expect to feel the warmth from something that’s dead. It would feel as if you are kissing a Popsicle stick or touching a slab of ice, no matter how beautiful or handsome they are. I’m not against people who have such preferences, but as far as I’m concerned I like vampires that seduce you and then kill you by drinking your blood. This is where ‘Colville – The Secret’ comes in and I have to say that it doesn’t disappoint!

The title of the book is easy to understand. You have a place named Colville and there’s some kind of secret involved. The official summary of the book is what caught my attention.

When four friends explore a nearby cave, something very strange, a transformation of sorts, begins to occur in one of them. Soon afterward, he leaves town, but while he is away a creature of some type begins killing at random, feeding off of his victims like a werewolf. Determined to find the killer, the group of friends set out on a quest that leads them to an unlikely source and into a well designed trap for which they are not prepared.

I mean you have werewolves that are feeding off their victims. Now, that’s what I call fun! Anyway they story follows four teenaged friends named Anya, Susan, Eric and Carl, who happen to live in Colville. During their summer break they decide to explore the local caves and that’s when everything starts to go haywire. I don’t want to give away too much regarding the story but one thing you can be sure about is that the author doesn’t shy away from killing. It builds the tension and the reader starts to worry about the next victim. Anya and her friends try to solve the mystery and what they don’t know is that it will lead them to unveil a secret that’s connected to one of the friends.

The characters are all different and that’s what makes the interactions fun to read. There are a lot of creepy scenes in the story. Some new characters are also introduced and you can’t be sure who to trust even when it comes to the friends themselves.

Give this book a read if you like vampires, werewolves and magic. Everything is presented in a ‘real’ world setting and it’s fun to have a read that doesn’t hesitate when it comes to how brutal supernatural things can be.

Colville – The Secret is written by A. J. Raven. He also wrote ‘Somerville Mysteries – The Missing‘ which I enjoyed and reviewed for you all. You know, the one with the bisexual boy dealing with high school drama trying to solve a case of a missing woman.

Give it a read and let me know what you think of it. It’s currently on websites that sell eBooks and I guess you can also get to read a huge free sample by searching for it on Google Books.

Let me know what you think of it!

From Barnes and Noble (Nook)

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/arousing-the-legacy-aj-raven/1117473139?ean=2940148750123

From Amazon (Kindle)

http://www.amazon.com/Arousing-Legacy-YA-Paranormal-Awakening-ebook/dp/B00GSY1THA/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1385066998&sr=1-1&keywords=arousing+the+legacy

iTunes

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/arousing-the-legacy/id741605007?mt=11

You check the review of book 2 and book 3 as well.

About TempestRaven

I'm a contender in the weird game they call 'Life' and i am trying to find my way without getting into too much trouble....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

